Hope Is Not A Business Model

When I think about a new idea for a startup- and when I put those thoughts into practice, lines between emotion and business go from black and white to blurs. It all starts with pesky feelings- passion, hope, boundless energy and even love come to mind when I am restlessly working on the next big project that I can’t imagine my life without . It’s easy to feel, because I love what I do. Building a startup has been a crucial part of my professional and personal life.

In my startup, I want to hope. Maybe it’s a natural instinct for me. However, I really try not to. I consider myself an individual with grand visions. I’ve always had a big imagination and a positive spirit. I think that resilience and optimism are key personality traits for successful founders. However, I can’t just hope users will take to the site, or even hope that advertisers will pay for access/ visibility to my audience. My father told me once “hope is not a business model,” and he was right.

The only clear line I can draw about hope is that I can hope for things that are out of my control. But my startup’s monetization strategy should never be out of my control, therefore, I only execute based on plan and measured feedback from bringing a product to market.

I have a need to build a realistic business model. I have no need to hope.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

The Story of Hannibal and the Elephants

The story of Hannibal should be told more often, especially to entrepreneurs in new startups. After all, there are several parallels we can draw from lessons taught through history. Picture this: Imagine Hannibal is your startup- a... Continue →